June 2, 2016

Facebook Samannay MTG Awards 2016 Presented

The society is laden with youths who make most of their unprecedented freedom by drinking and partying, getting strongly addicted to drugs, and continuously misusing popular social networking sites like Facebook. On the other hand, there are cultured youths from the new generation who have shown interest for the betterment of Assamese Art and Culture. With the help of such youths, a mobile theatre related group called ‘Facebook Samannay Mobile Theatre Group’ has has grown up on this popular social media site. 

This group is presently working for the upliftment of the mobile theatre. With an aim to promote mobile theatre in Assam, this popular Facebook group presented the ‘Facebook Samannay MTG Award 2016’ for the first time on May 21, in a colourful function held at the District Library, in Guwahati. The award ceremony, hosted by senior journalist Manoranjan Kalita, delighted the packed audiences with several attractive programmes. The awards, presented in the memory of several noted cultural activists of Assam, were presented in 13 different categories, and the selection was made through the voting of common people.

The Prasanta Hazarika and Ila Kakati Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred on the well-known mobile artiste Bhabesh Baruah for his contribution to mobile theatre. After receiving the award, the veteran actor expressed his love and gratitude to the theatre-loving audiences. He is also hopeful that the new generation will carry forward this rich legacy. On the other hand, well-known mobile artistes Parama Kalita, Haren Das and Khagen Sharma were presented with the Chakradhar Deka – Robin Neog Memorial Awards for their contribution in the field of mobile theatre.

The other awardees in various categories include :

Mahendra Borthakur Memorial Award for Best Drama – ‘Ramleela’, Dr. Bhabendra Nath Saikia Memorial Award for Best Story – ‘Mor Facebookot Tumi’, Mahananda Sharma Memorial Award for Best Actor – Prasenjit Borah, Aaidew Handique Memorial Award for Best Actress – Kabita Chutia, Maya Barman Memorial Award for Best Actor in a comic role – Madhav Dutta, Sarbeshwar Rajbongshi Memorial Award for Best Actor in a negative role – Nirmal Dutta and Parag Sharma, Sada Lahkar Memorial Award for the year’s Best Mobile Theatre Team – Theatre Bhagyadevi, Sarat Majumdar Memorial Award for Best Producer – Pankaj Hazarika, Bishnu Prasad Rabha Memorial Award for Best Choreographer – Ratul Das, Dr. Bhupen Hazarika Memorial Award for Best Music – Tarali Sharma, Aaidya Sharma (Guruji) Memorial Award for Best Art Direction – Paplu, Best Action Director – Pradhan Deuri, Best Actor (newcomer) – Sankar Rajkhowa, Best Actress (newcomer) – Kasturi Phukan.

On the occasion, the annual mouthpiece of the group - ‘Samannay’ conceptualised and edited by cine-journalist Kalyan Kumar Kalita, was released by mobile theatre director and dramatist Abhijit Bhattacharya and the editor himself. The award ceremony was graced by Najrul Islam, Subodh Majumdar, Dulumoni Das, Swagata Baruah, Munmi Kalita, Chinmoy Kotoky, Binoy Deka, Jeffry Bakshi, Jogesh Kashyap, Frenkey Baruah, Gunjan Choudhury, Mitul Balaji, Anjanjyoti Bez, Niranjan Das, Hemanga Raj, Jayanta Jiwan Baruah, Spandan Gogoi, Kamal Rewati, Simanta Kashyap among others. The group’s work was highly appreciated by the audiences present at the ceremony. The ‘Facebook Samannay Mobile Theatre Group’, which organized the Facebook Samannay MTG Awards for the first time, has decided to continue it as an annual event.


Post a Comment