June 9, 2016

Anajori Awards – 2016 Presented

The evening of May 29 saw the honouring of individuals who have been making a significant impact in the areas of art, cinema, literature, journalism, mobile theatre, education, human welfare etc by Anajori - a forefront socio-cultural organisation of the North East, at the auditorium of Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra. The programme kicked off with a devotional tune by singer Tarali Sarma, followed by the inauguration of the awards show by well-known actress Seema Biswas, who heaped praises on the organisation for its efforts. She was quite astounded by the significant array of artistes, litterateurs, social workers, journalists, among others present on the occasion. 

The show also prompted praise from noted journalist and chief editor, Prag News, Ajit Bhuyan, who released the much anticipated souvenir ‘Pothikrita’ on the occasion. Bhuyan too was bowled over by the sizeable presence of awardees, celebrities from various walks of life and others in the audience. He offered his heartfelt wishes to this year's recipients, who he feels are an inspiration to everyone, especially the youth of the state. The year’s Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to eminent social worker, film producer and distributor Shankarlal Goenka. The ‘Indra Bania Memorial Anajori Award’ was received by well-known actor Dinesh Das who became nostalgic while recalling his early days in the cinema industry. Shyamal Prasad Saikia, a police officer and social activist, was honoured with the ‘Manab Sewak Award’ for his selfless humanitarian works. A much recognizable figure, whose achievements in the mobile theatre industry merit special acknowledgement, Ratan Lahkar was honoured with the ‘Mahananda Sarma Memorial Anajori Award’.

Dhajya Hazarika, a joint editor with Asomiya Pratidin, was conferred with the year’s Best Journalist Award, evergreen mobile theatre actor-director Jibeshwar Deka was honoured with the ‘Robin Neog Memorial Anajori Award’, veteran journalist, litterateur, sports organiser and social worker Rajen Borkakati was presented with the Samajratna Award, popular singer Dr Sangita Kakati and mobile theatre actress Priyanka Barua received the ‘Charu Gohain Memorial Anajori Award’, noted educationist-social worker Dwijendra Nath Sarma was honoured with the ‘Nalini Chakravarty Memorial Anajori Award’, Nanda Singh Borkula and Kalpana Bordoloi Medhi both received the ‘Anajori Sahitya Award’.

The awards function was graced by noted writer Anuradha Sarma Pujari, singer JP Das, Meera Biswas, Biju Phukan, Nipon Goswami, Minu Bania, Rajib Prakash Barua, Chiranjib Das, Dr Soumen Bhartiya, Kanak Chandra Mahanta, Ajit Dutta, Bandana Dutta, Dr Hitesh Baruah among others. The program also showcased some delightful song renditions by JP Das, Sangita Kakati, Tarali Sarma and Shyamal Prasad Saikia. Anajori’s editor Alakesh Ranjan Bhattacharyya and assistant editor Bhabajit Barman thanked everyone for their help and cooperation.


Post a Comment