October 20, 2016

Santwana Bordoloi’s ‘Maj Rati Keteki’ Selected to Kerala Film Fest

National award winning Assamese film director Santwana Bordoloi’s new film ‘Maj Rati Keteki’, starring Bollywood actor Adil Hussain will be screened in the competition section of the prestigious 21st International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK). The festival, being organised by the Kerala State Chalachitra Academy on behalf of the Cultural Affairs Department, Government of Kerala, will be held from December 9 to 16 in Thiruvananthapuram.

Bordoloi’s second movie, coming after a hiatus of 20 years since making her directorial debut with ‘Adajya’ in 1996, ‘Maj Rati Keteki’ is a serious story about the life journey of a sensitive writer-poet-artist and how various events affect him. It goes to show how a writer's life experiences seep into his writings whether he consciously chooses it or not and also how a special kind of courage is required to face life's toughest truths.

The film’s protagonist is enacted by theatre and film actress Sulakshana Barua and its cinematographer is noted Tamil cameraman Ghana Shekhar V S.

A paediatrician by profession, Bordoloi’s 'Adajya' starring Bollywood actor Tom Alter had won the National award for Best Regional Film in 1996.

Bengali film ‘Chitrokar,’ directed by Saibal Mitra, Malayalam films, ‘Manhole,’ directed by debutant Vidhu Vincent and ‘Kaadu Pookkunna Neram’ by Dr Biju are the other films that made it to the competition.

As per the decision of the executive committee of the Chalachitra Academy, the grant for the nine Malayalam films, selected in the competition and Malayalam Cinema Today sections of the festival, has been increased from Rs 1 lakh to Rs 2 lakh.

The films included in the Malayalam Cinema Today section are ‘Aaradi’ by Saji Palamel Sreedharan, ‘Godsay’ by Sherrey Govindan/Shyju Govind, ‘Ka Bodyscapes’ by Jayan Cherian, ‘Kammatipaadam’ by Rajeev Ravi, ‘Kismath’ by Shanavas Bavakutty, ‘Mohavalayam’ by T V Chandran and ‘Veeram’ by Jayaraj.

The films included in the Indian Cinema Now section of IFFK are: ‘Bhaapaa Ki Bhayakatha’ by Paresh Mokashi (Hindi), ‘Harikatha Prasanga’ by Ananya Kasaravalli (Kannada), ‘Lady of the Lake’ by Paban Kumar Haobam (Manipuri), ‘Onaatah’ by  Pradip Kurbah (Khaasi), ‘Revelations’ by Vijay Jayapal (Tamil), ‘Kaasav’ by Sunil Sukthankar/Sumitra Bhave (Marathi) and ‘Merku Thodarchi Malai’ by Lenin Bharathi (Tamil).

The films in the Malayalam Cinema Today section were selected by a committee consisting of Sekhar Das, Leena Manimekalai, Latika Padgoankar, G P Ramachandran and  Damodar Prasad. The committee for the selection of Indian films includes K R Mohanan, Madhupal, Fowzia Fathima, K Manojkumar and Rajiv Vijayaraghavan.


Post a Comment