June 1, 2017

Malaya Goswami Honoured with Yamin Hazarika Woman of Substance Award

The Yamin Hazarika Woman of Substance Award-2017 was presented to noted actress Malaya Goswami recently. Goswami is the first Assamese actress to win the National Film Award for Best Actress for her performance in the Assamese film ‘Firingoti’ (1992).

The chief guest of the award function was Dr Amarjyoti Choudhury, noted physicist and poet, with the guest of honour being Jyotirmoy Chakraborty, Additional DGP. Writer Eli Ahmed, who was honoured with the Padmashri this year, was also felicitated.

A panel discussion titled ‘Where are the women in Science?’ was also held on the occasion. Books of three writers were released. The winner of Yamin Hazarika Woman of Substance Award in the first year was journalist and author Indrani Raimedhi. The award was bagged by athlete Tayabun Nesha in the second year.

The award, instituted by Women’s Hub, a collective of woman professionals, strives to celebrate the life of the trendsetting Assamese woman, the late Yamin Hazarika who rose to be DCP, Delhi Police. She was a 1977 batch DANIPS (NCT of Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service) officer.

This award was instituted to honour Hazarika, who passed away while still in service. She was the first woman police officer from Assam.


Post a Comment