March 13, 2018

Chalachitram Guwahati Film Festival Concludes

The Chalachitram Guwahati Film Festival 2018 recently concluded with the screening of ‘Gour Hari Dastan’ – a film by Anant Narayan Mahadevan on the life of Gour Hari Das, a freedom fighter from Odisha who made his way through a long and silent battle for his rights. The three-day festival promoting ‘meaningful cinema’ was inaugurated on March 2 on the premises of Jyoti Chitrabon Studio.

Speaking at the closing ceremony held at the Rudra Baruah auditorium, Minister of State for Cultural Affairs Naba Kumar Doley said that his department would continue to support such endeavours for promoting cultural exchanges. He lauded the role of the film fest for its special screening ‘Dr Bezbaruah’ and a special programme on 50 years of the iconic Assamese film.

“The State government is preparing a comprehensive film policy for supporting the regional cinema. Once in place, this policy would help not just the Assamese cinema but the films of all other ethnic languages of the State,” he said. MLA and actor Angoorlata Deka, while speaking on the occasion said that only Assamese sentiments were not sufficient to make an Assamese film successful. Acclaimed film director Manju Bora and Jyoti Chitrabon chairperson Pabitra Margherita also spoke on the occasion.

In the same event, the prizes for Chalachitram ‘Heritage Short Film Competition 2018’ were also distributed.

‘No’ (The Home), a documentary produced and directed by Pranabjyoti Deka and Sujit Dev Barma, was adjudged as the Best Film, while ‘Little Hearts’, a fiction film produced by Majan Bordoloi and directed by Manas Sagra was declared as the Second Best Film.

In the documentary category, ‘Chanderinama’ and ‘A Light That Refuses to Fade Out’ received the Jury’s Special Mention while ‘Letters from Deuta’ got the Jury’s Special Mention in the fiction category.

The jury board was headed by renowned film editor Aseem Sinha, who has edited films like ‘Zubaida’, ‘Sardari Begum’, ‘Well Done Abba’, ‘Welcome to Sajjanpur’, etc. Other jury members included film directors Neelanjan Dutta and Tribeni Roy.

Films from countries including Korea, France, Sri Lanka, Nepal and Spain took part in the competition.

Marathi film ‘Lokmanya Ek Yugpurush’ was the inaugural film of the festival. This apart, films like ‘Anandaram Barua’, ‘Atul’ and ‘Nasty Women’ (Sri Lanka) also made a mark in the event.

During the festival, an interactive session with Ramen Barua, Dwipen Barua, Nipon Goswami and Sadhan Hazarika was also held. A number of cultural programmes were also organised during the three-day programme.

Prantik Deka