April 19, 2018

‘Village Rockstars’ Reigns Supreme at the National Film Awards

In a major achievement for Assamese cinema, Rima Das’s ‘Village Rockstars’ has been adjudged the Best Feature Film at the 65th National Film Awards. This rare honour has come after nearly three decades since Jahnu Barua’s ‘Halodhia Choraye Baodhan Khai’ in 1987. The movie also won the Best Editing honour for the filmmaker, Best Child Artist honour for Bhanita Das and Best Location Sound Recordist Award for Mallika Das. ‘Village Rockstars’ has been garnering major awards at a number of prestigious film festivals all over the globe.

Director Rima Das, who is also the film’s producer, is awarded the Swarna Kamal Award which carries Rs 2,50,000 each for the producer and director. Both Bhanita Das and Mallika Das wins Rajat Kamal Awards that carries a cash prize of Rs 50,000 each. This year, the jury, comprising of 10 members was headed by eminent filmmaker Shekhar Kapur. The other members include screenwriters Imtiaz Hussain and Tripurari Sharma, directors Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury and Rajesh Mapuskar, South Indian actress Gauthami Tadimalla, lyricist Mehboob, Kannada director P Sheshadri, Ranjit Das and Rumi Jaffrey.

The National Film Awards cememony, organised by the government’s Directorate of Film and Festivals, will be presented by President Ram Nath Kovind on May 3.

On the other hand, film critic turned filmmaker Utpal Borpujari’s debut feature ‘Ishu’ has won the Best Assamese Film in the regional category. The film, produced by the Children’s Film Society India (CFSI), has been awarded the Rajal Kamal, which carries a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh each for the producer and director.

Prantik Deka


Post a Comment